Eleven!

Just something I whipped up this past week. A new blue vest for Frances. If you’re interested, here is where I found the pattern. I am trying to get away from the colour pink. It seems as though I went a little over board with the excitement of having a girl. Frances looks so delightful in blue as it brings out the blueberry in her eyes. I was never very partial to pink and think gender colours are silly. I love the fact that my six year old nephew wears a pink shirt. I guess it’s because his parents are so cool! When I worked in the yarn shop I heard some pretty ridiculous things about gender and colour. Did you know that boys should not wear red!? No, apparently red is a feminine colour!

Today Frances is eleven months old! She is growing into such a fun little girl. Woo, woo, woo (woof) she says all the time. Aouw, aouw is the sound a kiy (kitty) makes. She says hi, ma ma, da da and na na. Ging, ging is another word she uses a lot but we haven’t figured out what that means yet. Sometimes I think there’s a snake in the house because she hisses sssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss!! I find it so amusing to watch her process the associations. The other night she was waring a bib with a duck on it. While I was feeding her I was talking about the duck and making quacking noises. Later in the evening as I was reading her a story, a duck appeared. I pointed to the duck and started quacking. She pulled on her shirt and started looking for that duck! It is so wonderful to watch your child grow and learn!

7 responses to “Eleven!

  1. I’m feeling some baby vest love :)

    I agree with you about the whole gender/colour thing, it’s ridiculous. And I had no idea that red is a feminine colour – who knew? I saw, wear whatever you like – except the mustard/maroon combo. I hate that one.

  2. What…. no mustard / maroon!?!?! That’s my favorite ;)

    Yes, I LOVE the vest – very stylish! And POOOOO to those who associate gender with colour. I would dress my boys all in blue and people would STILL think they were girls!?!?!?!?! I think men in pink are HOT (which is why Scott has so many pink shirts in his wardrobe!)

    Off to B-more tomorrow…. back late Saturday…. will be in touch….

  3. Wish I was there to hear all of Frannie’s new works :(

  4. I mean… words…..

  5. Mustard and maroon are two of my favorite colours, especially together!! Just kidding!! I think my elementary school used that colour combination. Yuck.

    Have a great weekend away with the boys Sayer!

  6. I agree that gender/color association is a bit over the top. That said – Sara is welcome to the men in pink. ;)

    Red – however – red is a powerful color. A TON of guys wear red. Cameron has a lot of red. Tiger Woods wears red on Sundays.

    And that blue vest for Frannie is A-DOR-A-BLE! Nice job knitting Mama.

  7. Well, I can’t get Josh to wear pink:/

    Red is best! Red is my favorite colour and I think all boys look fantastic in red! I was quite surprised when a lady told me that boys couldn’t wear red!

Leave a Reply

