A knitting post

Today I decided it was time to write a knitting post. Knitting has been such a huge part of my life in the past many years and I recently invited my good knitting friend Miss Knit over to see what I have been up to lately. There was a time when I could whip things up in a flash like she does. Sweaters, socks, mittens, hats, shawls, anything, I even knit a self portrait in one of my foundation classes at NSCAD. I used to scoff at people when I heard the words no time to knit. What can they mean no time to knit, I knit on the bus, while cooking dinner, I am sure I have even knit in my sleep! I laughed at my mother for taking five years to knit a sweater. ( I have to give her so much credit though, she worked a row hear and a row there seemingly enjoying every single stitch and not allowing another knitting project to steel her attention!) But now, I sit hear with my tail between my legs and say I just don’t have the time to knit anymore!! Well, not like I used to.

I have a few projects on the go and when I can steel a few minutes away from life as a mother to knit a few rows I do it with pleasure. I think it has made knitting a bit more special again! Hear is a peek at what I have been working on.

This was one of the first things I started when Frances was just a tiny glimmer in my eye and one of the last things I finished just before she was a tiny bundle in my arms. It has been my favorite sweater for her. She wore it from the time she was born (well she really swam in it) and she still wears it now.

I decided I would knit this sweater again in a larger size, this time in soft warm alpaca. As far as knitting goes, it has a few of my favorite elements. One piece top down, this means little to no sewing. Garter stitch around the top yolk, just knitting every row, and an easy lace pattern that becomes ingrained in your memory by the time you reach the second repeat. So easy and so sweet, little by little it should be finished by fall. Maybe once I finish this one I will knit this one for myself!

One response to “A knitting post

  1. Before Cameron arrived I had all sorts of things planned with all my free time – HA! HA HA HA! I’m actually am quite proud of myself for completing his first year baby book. There hasn’t been one since.

    I think when he turned four – I finally got back a little time and enough energy to get back to doing things just because I wanted to. And still, there will be stretches of time when all I do is cook, clean and be a mom.

    There should be a chip in our heads – we mothers of small children – that allow us to only require 3 hours of sleep. Then, in the quite moments of the night, when no one needs us to do anything, we can do a couple things for ourselves!

    The sweater is gorgeous! I’d love to see the self-portrait one!

Leave a Reply

