Parting is such sweet sorrow.

It was a sad, sad day yesterday as my sisters family packed up and headed off on their journey back home. What makes it even sadder is the fact that we will not see them until next summer. Their annual pilgrimage north to the Canadian side of the family is usually broken up by a visit at Christmas. This year because of the high price of air travel and Sara’s singing schedule it wouldn’t make sense for them to come. While I knew this the whole time they were here, it didn’t seem to sink in until yesterday when I really started missing them all.

We had so much fun together and it makes me so happy to think about that. When they arrived Frances wasn’t so sure about all the people and action. Josh and I are pretty mellow and our house is calm and quiet. (We’re cat people) But stick six adults, three kids, two dogs and one cat in an average sized house and it’s bound to be a little wild! Thankfully we always have our calm quiet space to return to at the end of the day. Every day we spent with the cousins, little Franny warmed up to the idea of having visitors. Even the barking dog became blase. It was so great to see the kids all together. Nathaniel and Andrew were so sweet with Frances. They were forever asking to hold her and loved feeding her Cheerios. If she was upset, Andrew would gently pat her head and tell her it was alright because he was there. How cute is that?!

While we did lots of fun things together, the best times, as is usually the case with my family, were spent around the dinner table. I love these times because it means we are all together in the same room and you can look around the table and see all the happy faces. Even grumpy Grampy’s! Before kids it was always about the food. Now it doesn’t matter what we are eating, it could be hamburgers for the third time. Sure we all drive each other nuts with our idiosyncrasies, but for two weeks of the year we can all get along and enjoy one another. If that’s all we’ve got, then we have to squeeze as much of each other in as we can get.

It may be sad right now to miss all of the togetherness, but in a few weeks we’ll all be back to our own lives without a single thought about it. That in its self is kind of sad. I wish so much that my sister lived closer. Now that we are older we can get along really well. It’s funny, when we were younger I shuttered to think that I was anything like my sister. Now I see so many similarities. Gosh, we even have the same clothing sensibilities. Maybe it’s because for the first time ever we are both on the same page. She no longer mothers me, but treats me as an equal. Just two mothers trying to do the best for their little ones as they can. It feels so nice and makes me miss her even more.

The cousins, the mamas and the mamas mama.

With all the fun we had this summer, I am super excited to see what next year has in store!

2 responses to “Parting is such sweet sorrow.

  1. Sara’s gonna cry when she reads that! 🙂

    Greetings from Ohio! We’re at the tail end of our own family visiting adventure.

    I’m so glad that you guys all had a wonderful time – but now I get my good neighbors back. (yipee) But I certainly can understand how you feel. When are you guys coming down??? Hmmmm?

    Love the pic of the women and their young.

  2. Auntie Sayer

    So sad! We miss you guys so much…. especially our little Frannie. What a delight she is! Especially after her dinner!

    Yes, my fondest memories of home almost always revolve around the dinner table. Everyone in their appointed spots. Isn’t it great to have a house full of good cooks…. and good eaters!

    I am so going though Joe Fresh withdrawl. Holy cow what an awesome place!

    Off to bed… can’t wait till Julie and Cameron are back… we miss them too!

Leave a Reply

