Happy New Year!

Fall was lurking in the air this morning as I awoke. I was snuggled in bed as the cool crisp air blew in through the open window and kissed me on the cheek. I was so happy to feel its presence and I welcomed it back with so much exuberance, as I do every year.

[mixwit_mixtape wid=”66740e4cfe64156db032b1db6e130728″ pid=”47ac926771480ece3efaa1dd555579d5″ un=”decodaco” width=”426″ height=”327″ center=”true”]

Technically it isn’t Fall yet, but the Labor Day weekend puts it upon us far sooner then some might like. You know how I feel about summer, so I couldn’t be happier. Yesterday on the CBC, I heard something about turning Labor day into a New Years day of sorts complete with resolutions. I could really subscribe to this idea, the first of September and the beginning of fall really feels like the end of one thing and the beginning of another. Maybe it has something to do with the end of summer and the beginning of a new school year, and even though it has been a while since I was in school the cool crisp morning air is enough to make a person wax nostalgic. Many folk feel a twinge of sadness as summer nears the end, and it is in a way sad to say goodbye to all those fun times summer brought us, but some smarty pants once said all good things must come to an end. If all good things never ended, then we wouldn’t have any new good things to look forward to!

Fall is such a beautiful time of the year. The dull green leaves turn to brilliant warm colors and the air is so fresh. There is an overabundance of delicious food to be harvested and preserved for the coming winter. Apples are dying to be picked and the crunch of your first bite into that wonderful piece of fruit makes your mouth water with juicy sweetness. Pumpkins, oh the pumpkins. Just like the leaves, turn from green to brilliant orange making each one just perfect for a jack o’ lantern to light the way of spooky trick or treaters!

Fall is a time to be thankful and a time to reflect. I am happy and healthy as are all the people who are near and dear to me. That I am thankful for! We have gone through so much this year. Josh and I, welcoming a new and wonderful person into our lives. We watch her grow in leaps and bounds on a daily basis. She amazes us and we love her from the very core of our beings. Did you know that if you ask her “what does a puppy dog say” she will bark. It sounds kind of like woo, woo, woo with a blow on each woo. She will be one soon. Wow, time sure passes fast. I really love just being with her and watching to see what move she will make next!

The long weekend was really great. Josh took Friday off as to make it a truly long weekend. On Friday Frances and I took him to the best toy store before we went and had the best sush for lunch. On Saturday, Nanny (my mother) and I went to the Farmers Market as we do every week to pick up all the meat, fish and fresh veggies we will eat through the week. We always get coffee and pastries and sometimes we take Lucy the dog to the park. That afternoon Josh, Frances and I walked all the way up to North and Robie (quite far) to stock up on a few weeks worth of the best coffee. We were pooped!

Saturday was kind of a sad day. Our dear friend and special Auntie Caitlin was meant to move back home to Toronto that day. We had hung out a bunch last week, but hadn’t said a proper goodbye. Late Saturday afternoon I had checked my messages and because she hadn’t had much sleep and still had some cleaning and packing to do, she was still in town. So she stopped by for a nice visit and a proper goodbye with a hug. Luckily we had some veggi leftovers in the fridge and we could feed her some well needed dinner. We sure will miss her. I met her almost seven years ago at NSCAD, we were in foundation together. I remember our first studio class, we had to go around in a circle and introduce ourself and say something interesting. I can’t for the life of me remember what I said, but I distinctly remember Caitlin wearing a pair of old school Sorel style winter boots in bright colors, and she said she hated shoe shopping and that she had found those boots in her parents basement. I wonder whatever happened to them. We had a few classes together and became friends. It has been so good to have a friend who shares so many of the same interests and no matter where her life takes her, I know that we will continue to share our love of food, books, coffee, all things textiles and art and the mail! Frances will miss her a lot as well. I hope Caitlin doesn’t mind, but here she is meeting Frances for the first time.

The weather was touch and go all weekend, so on Sunday morning as it sprinkled rain a bit my mother and I decided to take a drive out to the coast and go for a hike. It was foggy when we got there but the sun soon came out and it got quite warm.

This is the community of Prospect. It is a lovely spot and a place I could only dream about living, but not a place that would be fun to live during a hurricane.

Here is my mother and her dog Lucy after the sun started to shine. The fog wasn’t thick enough to obscure the view.

On Sunday afternoon I met Miss Knit for a stitch and complain. (That’s our version of a Stitch and Bitch) We don’t really do much complaining though, we talk more about knitting and life. It is always nice to get away by myself and have some adult chit chat with another lady. I was really excited to see some of her finished lace projects. I wish some of her finishing projects would rub off on me!

Later that evening Frances, Josh, his dad and I went to my parents house for ribs, fried green tomatoes and cornbread. Could you get any more southern comfort then that?! This is a meal in which we usually share at least once in the summer, but this weekend was the first time for it this year. Just as the summer is ending. It tasted extra good because it had been so long since we had it last.

Such a busy weekend trying to squeeze in all the end of summer goodness before all the wonderful fall activities have us going like crazy preparing for the winter!

Oh boy, that was a long post! I hope I didn’t lose you on this one. Stay tuned, the pants are almost finished and I have to tell you about the Fried green tomatoes.

2 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. I want the fried green tomato recipe. I’m salivating just thinking about them….mmmm…..
    Kitchen is completely emptied out. The fridge, microwave, toaster oven and (most importantly) coffee maker are all crammed in to the dining room. As well as all the things I think we might need in the next four weeks (so I don’t have to go digging through bags and boxes for them).
    Maybe I should blog about our kitchen reno…. you’ll have to give me some pointers!
    Can’t wait to get started!
    Miss youSOOOO much after reading your blog. Wish we were there to hike, market, listen to the “woo woo woo” and eat ribs and FGT!
    LOVE,
    -S

  2. I love autumn. It’s – by far – my favorite season. The colors are so pretty and rich. There’s back to school excitement, Halloween and my birthday! And it’s cooler and I get to wear my favorite clothes.

    Yes – Autumn kicks tush.

    I’m sorry your dear friend is moving away. It sucks when friends (who live down the street) do that. 😉

    I’ll listen to your newest mix later when I’m cleaning my studio.

Leave a Reply

