These spats are where it’s at!

Being a bit of a crafty mama, I decided rather than going out and purchasing a pair of the ever so popular Baby Legs I would whip up a pair of spats for my baby’s legs. When Frances rides in her carrier or any other piece of equipment where her pants ride up, her legs become exposed to the elements. With the cooler weather coming on I think more about keeping my punkin cozy and warm. I found some lovely soft wool while visiting Louise and Eileen up at LK Yarns last week.

Now, here’s the recipe if you’re interested:

I used Marks & Kattens Eco Baby Ull with a suggested gauge of 26 sts. to 4″ on a 3mm needle.

On 3mm double point needles, cast on 40 stitches.

Knit 3 purl 1 rib for 6″

On next round increase 1 st in every other purl st. (45 sts)

Work 4 rounds in rib pattern (K3 P2, K3 P1)x5

On next round increase 1 st in alternate purl st. (50 sts)

Work 4 rounds in rib pattern (K3 P2)x10

On final round work to 6 sts before end of round.

Cast off 10 sts, knit 15 sts, cast off 10 sts, knit 15.

You will now have two needles with 15 sts on each.

Work back and forth on first needle starting with a wrong side row:

1st row: K1, K2tog, K1, P to last 4 sts, K1 SSK, K1

2nd row: K1, K2tog, K to last 3 sts, SSK, K1

Continue these two rows until you are left with 7 sts. and leave them on the needle.

Work the other 15 sts in the same manner but continue with the 7 sts in garter st. for 3″

You can either use a three needle bind off, or graft the two sets of 7 sts. together.

Voila, baby spats!

6 responses to “These spats are where it’s at!

  1. You’ve inspired me. I pulled out all my wool and started a new project last night… more to come…..

    Love the spats. Saw a little girl in a backpack yesterday and her legs were bare (because the pants were pulled up a bit.). I felt very cold for her.

    Is that the pink sweater I found?

  2. What will you make??

    Yes, that is the pink sweater. It is a new favorite! I will take a better photograph so you can see how cute she looks in it 🙂
    I should get that little white coat out. I bet it would fit just right and perfect for the fall weather we are starting to get!

  3. I LOVE THE SPATS!!!

    I greedily want a pair for myself. I will go online. I love online.

    Nicely done, Jessica.

  4. Love those little leggings – I always feel so bad for chilly chubby baby legs. Nice job!

  5. Hello,
    I posted to Ravelry. I was hoping a group I belong to could have permission to use this pattern in a group nomad knit. Each knitter knitting a portion and passing the knit along to a partner or two. Many thanks! Lee

  6. Please do, that sounds like fun!!

Leave a Reply

