Apple goodness.

Apple butter

Golden sweet delicious apple butter.

With so many apples and little time for big productions, apple butter was just the thing to cook up this past weekend. My lovely assistant Josh helpfully peeled and cored two dozen apples while Frances and I sat and watched.

Approximately 24 apples peeled, cored and roughly chopped.

3/4 cup apple cider

Cook until apples are soft then puree.

Throw in a cinnamon stick and enough maple syrup to your taste (I used about 1/4 cup)

cook on a very low heat for a few hours stirring every so often. (I cooked mine for about 5 hours.)

It is essentially a high concentrated spreadable apple sauce.

After using 1 cup of the apple sauce for Thanksgiving dinner, I ended up with 12 small 125 ml. jars with a little extra to sample.

6 responses to “Apple goodness.

  1. Mmmm! You know, I’ve never had apple butter before!! I’ve heard of it, but never had the opportunity to try it. Maybe the boys and I should make some – Andrew LOVES apples… can’t get enough of them!

  2. You have a slow cooker do you not? Apparently it works well with apple butter because you cook it slow and low.
    I had never had it before either and now I don’t know how I lived this long without it. It is sooooooooooo good!!! I have been eating it on my english muffin in the morning. I think I may need to make more to get us through till next year!

    You should definitely make some!!

  3. I made an apple pie with my bounty but apple butter is an awfully nice idea. Hmmmm. Looks yum-tum-tummy!

  4. If you have any apples left over I highly suggest making apple butter!

  5. Guess I’ll have to lug my slow cooker out from under the dining room table and get the boys peeling…. I bet Mr. Andrew would LOVE it!
    Off to fill my new cabinets…..

  6. Pingback: Going backwards. « the missing piece

Leave a Reply

