Such a sweet sweater.

sweater1

Sweet sweater.

I have been meaning to tell you about Franny’s new little sweater that Nanny knit for her. You may have seen it pop up in my previous post and in the Daily…Maybe, we seem to dress her in it all the time.

I guess it was back in June when my parents were preparing for their road trip out to Omaha, I asked my mother if she needed a new knitting project for the long drive. She left it up to me to find her a pattern and some yarn. A sweater for Frances was the perfect thing for her to make, it would be small and knit up fast. I like a simple cardigan and I didn’t want my mom messing around with a complicated pattern while acting as co-pilot to my dad. So I found a really great pattern knit in one piece from the top down. No seams to sew! For the yarn I chose Rowan Felted Tweed in a really pretty green that looks so nice on Frances.

I hadn’t inquired into the progress of the sweater for some time. I think I kind of forgot about it. Then, two weeks ago at the birthday party, Nanny came with a big pile of presents. Franny finally came to one that looked soft, like maybe it contained an article of clothing. She pulled off the paper and there to my delight was a beautiful new sweater! I was quite surprised to see she had finished it without me knowing. The tweed knit up really nicely and the mother of pearl buttons she chose really sets it off.

It has quickly become one of my favorite sweaters that looks so great with whatever Franny wears it with. Nanny did such a good job!

10 responses to “Such a sweet sweater.

  1. Wow – Nanny did do a great job. You know, I don’t kiot. So when I’m reading that the whole sweater is one piece with no seams – that just blows my mind! What a lovely little sweater.
    Nice Job Martha!

  2. Nice job, Nanny…. but what about the boys šŸ˜‰
    I love the colour. I need to finish Julie’s hat, so I can started on something for me!

  3. Look out Frannie – I’ve got a sweater going in the same colour! We’ll have to co-ordinate so as not to show up at an event wearing the same thing (how embarassing!) Your mom did a great job and Frances looks so cute šŸ™‚

  4. What kind of yarn did you use in your scarf as seen in the latest Daily…maybe?

  5. I can’t remember what the yarn is called, but it’s silk boucle from the Fleece Artist.

    What kind of hat are you making Sara?

  6. I’m making Julie a “Sara Hat”!

  7. I just stumbled upon your lovely blog! Cute sweater for a cute little girl!

  8. Thank you Emily and Maria Rose!

  9. Wow, that is the perfect sweater!

  10. WOW! How precious is today’s Daily….maybe! Nothing better than a sleeping baby. I love to look at the boys when they’re sleeping – I can still see the baby in them.

Leave a Reply

