A teen in baby months!

thirteen

Thirteen!

Today Frances is thirteen months old! Holy cow, she is such a growing girl! It really is amazing how fast kids this age learn and change. I don’t remember teaching her where the shoe was on her foot, but one day I said Frances, where is the shoe on your foot and she lifted up her leg and pointed to her foot! If we say the word brush, she rubs the hair on her head. She tries to say so many of the words we say to her, it’s pretty funny. She loves to hug, kiss and be close and if the radio is playing music, she loves to dance with her daddy!

She’s a tiny girl, just like her mom and dad I suppose. We have a new playgroup that we like and she looks so tiny to me when I see her with all the other kids. There are two little girls about nine or ten months old who are the same size as Franny. She seems to be coming out of her shell at the library. Last Friday she made a few vocalizations when Penny was singing with puppets!

Her favorite book right now is Goodnight Moon. I think it’s because of the red balloon, she has become obsessed with balloons since her birthday. I think she also really likes the illustrations and the juxtaposition of colour to black and white.

Watching Frances explore her world is really exciting. She is very thoughtful in her play and examines objects very carefully. Books are still one of her favorite things, although she really likes her Playmobil ladies and cars.

The fun never stops, the more Franny grows, the more the fun does as well!

5 responses to “A teen in baby months!

  1. Both boys LOVED Good Night Moon. So did I. I loved the way the volume decrescendo’d through the book so that the last page was a barely audible whisper. Sometimes I could put them to sleep with that book.

    I can’t believe how big Ms. F. is getting. And I love those big eyes (and long lashes!!!).

    Glad to hear that you’ve found a play group! It’s fun to watch them with other kids their age.

  2. Ah, Good Night Moon. For me it was finding that little mouse. But the bold red and green are quite striking. So simple. So awesome.

    Frannie looks so cute. Enjoy the teens months!

  3. I didn’t quite get Goodnight Moon before Frances. Now I think it’s brilliant.

    We like finding that little mouse as well, but Frances gets the biggest charge when she sees the red balloon. In fact, when we ask her if she wants to read that book she will say “red balloon”!!

  4. What little mouse!?!?! Did I miss something!?!?!?

  5. oh Goodnight Moon! Who could deny it’s simple beauty. I love the text and Clement Hurd’s paintings–brilliant!

Leave a Reply

