Our Christmas.

christmas11

The only bottle this little lady would take was that of a single malt.

Ah Christmas, the most wonderful time of the year. I find it so anticlimactic. Sure it’s great in the thick of things, we all had a marvelous time. Up at 7, excitedly tearing into our stalkings filled with treasures. Frances would have been happy if the only things she got were the traditional orange and apple, no surprise there, but she did enjoy the paper (Paper, Paper, Paper!!!) A nice family breakfast of scrambled eggs and bagels. Oh and coffee for mom and dad. Then on to more presents from under the tree. With a little guidance Frances lead and we followed, trying to get as much out of each present as possible before moving on. I think the whole operation moved along nice and smoothly with no melt downs what so ever. Wanting to stay as close as possible to the tracks of our daily schedule, I was anxious for some of the grandparents to pay their visits. With Lucy the dog in tow(antlers and all), my parents showed up with more surprises. I guess Santa left some stuff for Frances at their house as well. More paper, paper, paper and she got all the things her mother had wished for. A Wheely Bug to ride around on and some new Robeez boots. Have I ever told you how much I love Robeez? I absolutely love these shoes, they’re made in Canada eh! Franny even got her very own Lucy. Soon Josh’s dad arrived with more goodies. Poor Frances was fading fast. We had a nice visit with everyone, ate some lunch and finally down for a good long nap.

Now time for mother to move on to making dessert for the big Christmas feast. Poached pears stuffed with raisins, walnuts and honey and a custard sauce. With no double boiler a little improvisation was called for, which seemed to take a little longer. Note to self: ask Santa for one next Christmas. Just as I had finished cooking, Frances awoke as bright and cheerful as usual. Now on to dinner. We all made our way over to my parents house for the recreation of a family classic 1970’s James Beard inspired Christmas dinner. After a brief discussion a few months back it was decided that my mother would make the Christmas “pie” we had when I was a child. My fond memories of Christmas past were stirred up with the excitement of tasting this treat. I love how food can take you back to a favorite time or place in the past. It was everything I remembered it to be and better. I stuffed myself to capacity, saving room for dessert of course and when we were all through I couldn’t move.

Frances was the perfect child all day. She loved her dinner as much as I and couldn’t get enough of the pie. Mmm… she said! When we had all finished eating Nanny sprang her from the table and took her to the piano (peananno) for a little play. She loves this and waits with anticipation every time we have dinner over there. A jolly end to a wonderful day. We all crashed when we returned home and spent the following day unwrapping more surprises and playing with all the new toys.

5 responses to “Our Christmas.

  1. I actually think Robeez are made in China now with Stride Rite – what a pity. Have a wonderful New Year!

  2. Sue, I had the same inkling there for a while but after checking around and reading the label, they are in fact still made in Canada. The day I see made in China on the Robeez label is the day my world explodes!

    Happy New Year to you as well!

  3. Sigh… I wish we were there. Feeling very sad and lonely. It just doesn’t feel like Christmas this year. I’m glad Ms. F. had a grand day. That’s what it’s all about now, eh? I didn’t want ANYTHING for Christmas (except a pair of new slippers – which I needed). I didn’t even care about having a stocking this year (GASP!!!!) I just wanted to watch the kids (and Scott) enjoy themselves. That was the best gift in the world.

    Your pears sound DIVINE. You’ll have to post the recipe (hint-hint!). Poached pairs are my number one favorite dessert! I don’t think I’ve ever made them though.

    Off to finish cleaning up the tornado…. almost done with the boys room – sorting toys into new bins, pulling out the outgrown toys to give to Ms. F., pitching the old McD’s toys (ug! I hate those things!)… etc, etc. Scott is sorting the bookcases (what haven’t we looked at in ten years – and are NOT going to move!) Moving is great! I can’t believe how uncluttered things are starting to look!

    Hope you guys are having a nice week! We miss you!

  4. Sara – you are such a liar! You change you’re favorite dessert every single time you talk! 🙂 Last I heard your favorite dessert was Walbaum’s white cake.

    Anyway – sounds like a truly lovely Christmas, Jessica. Why do you call them stalkings? Do they jump off the mantle and record your ever movement? 🙂 Har har har!

    Sounds like Frannie had a blast and was a very good girl. Christmas is a wonderful holiday for kids.

  5. Ha, ha, I meant to say stockings, that is just how tired and zoned out I was. Well that and I am not the greatest speller.

    Sara is like that isn’t she! No, I think she just really likes desserts of all kinds and I don’t blame her because I do as well!!

Leave a Reply

