Suck it up and walk into the new year!

Happy New Year! A little late as punctuality went out my window over a year ago, but just as sincere all the same. Any resolutions or predictions for 2009? I believe resolutions are hogwash. I mean come on, who really sticks them out and follows through? I will give dear Josh props as he has been smoke free ever since he made a resolution to kick the butt two years ago. I would like to be a calmer stress free person but that’s not anything a resolution can fix and I don’t have any vices in need of cracking down on. I take it all in moderation and would never give up the small pleasures that make life more enjoyable. As for predictions, I think Frances will definitely walk this year, I will finish at least one knitting project and maybe I will learn to play the glockenspiel.

I think that I am finally emerging from my Christmas induced blue funk. I tend to crash and burn after the holidays. That’s why I find Christmas to be so anticlimactic, all the built up excitement for that one big day and bamo, it’s over. This was a strange year that never really felt like Christmas. The dinner just felt like any other Sunday dinner at my parents house. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate all of my mothers hard work and it was delicious, but the table just seemed a little empty. When things change and the people you are used to being with aren’t there, it just doesn’t feel right. But I guess that is what growing up and having your own family is all about and a few years of doing it this way will make it seem more normal. Change is just a little uncomfortable.

Our New Years brought a ton of snow which makes it harder for me to get out with a little person. There’s all the layers of clothing to dress her in and then when we do make it out, navigating over large snow banks with a stroller is a little tricky. This makes me cranky with the prospect of being stuck indoors for the next 3 cold months. I could be suffering from a little mother burnout. I love being home with Frances every day, there is no other place I’d rather be. But I think I might be in need of a little break. Last Friday I got out with my mother for a few hours and it was so great. We went to the yarn shop to get her set up with some new projects and then out for lunch. Just what I needed, but now I want more!

Today we took our tree down, thus concluding the 12 days of Christmas. A little sad, but so nice to have that extra space back. When all of the decorations had been taken off I thought hmm, I don’t think we took any photographs of it but while looking through photos tonight I found this:

tree

…and these are some of the lovely handmade ornaments that were added to our tree this year.

decoration5

Sara, my sister made and sent these wonderful cranes hung on pretty ribbons with beads strung on the ends as weights I suppose.

decoration4

My blog buddy and neighbour of Sara’s sent this sweet bear for Frances. She loves bears and has enjoyed playing with him, especially undressing and dressing him! Maybe he was meant more for a toy but we are going to keep him with the tree decorations so we can discover him all over again every year. I think that makes him more special. Thanks Julie!

decoration2decoration3

decoration1

These are some of the embroidered felt birds I made this year. I will try and make Frances a special ornament every year so that when she grows up and moves out she will have some things to hang on her own tree. I started to make Josh and I each one but other things happened and they didn’t get finished. Ah well, there’s always next year!

2 responses to “Suck it up and walk into the new year!

  1. I’m with you in the Christmas funk. It’s all so much lead up and then – it’s over. It did feel like just another day, although one with eggnog. I enjoyed my lame-o New Year’s Eve watching familiar movies with my man and knitting a bit more.
    I will definitely be up for a visit this sunday as I absolutely refuse to be sick 2 weeks in a row. I need some social time too šŸ™‚

    PS – I am in love with the embroidered birds. In love.

  2. Auntie Sayer

    I too am in love with your birds. You should make a TON of them and sell them at the market next year. People would SNAP them up! They are so simple yet SO fancy, you could charge a pretty penny for them and make a nice little profit! I also love the idea of making Ms. F. a new ornament every year. Julie does that for Magoo. When Scott’s Gram Goodwin went to the Cape in the summer, she would always stop at the Christmas Tree Shoppe on the way home and get him a new ornament. He had quite a nice collection…. until…. his old flatmate absconded with them!

    So, you’re going to learn the glockenspeil this year, eh? Go for it!

    I hear that little Ms. F. is starting to take some tentative solo steps…. Got the video recorder handy?

    Love your tree too. It is exactly the height and width I was looking for…. ours was a little too fat!

    Throw that little girl in your back carrier and go out for a walk. That’s how I did it! And, don’t worry! Before you know it, the snow will be melting and the crocuses will be popping their little heads out of the ground. Or, why don’t you and Ms. F. fly down here for a visit with the cousins!?!?!?!?

Leave a Reply

