Hermits.

bake3

Today is a good day for hermits in more ways then one. The blowing snow we went to bed with last night turned to rain as we slept and left a slushy mess on our doorstep this morning. After watching numerous cars slide down our street I decided it would be a good day to stay put indoors.

I will never shun a chocolate chip cookie but I much prefer a “healthy” cookie made with whole wheat flour and spices. Today as I was milling over the index of cookies in the Joy of Cooking it dawned on me that what I was really looking for was posted on the refrigerator. Nanny’s Hermits, ah perfect!

Oven- 375′

1/2 c. butter

add gradually:

1 c. packed brown sugar

blend until light and fluffy, beat in:

1 egg

1/2 c. yogurt (or sour cream or butter milk)

mix together:

1 c. whole wheat flour

1/3 c. wheat germ

3/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. cloves

1/4 tsp. baking soda

mix into butter mixture and stir in:

1/2 c. raisins, candied fruit

1/4 c. chopped nuts

zest of 1 lemon

drop onto cookie sheet and bake for 15 min.

Makes 2 dozen.

I used 1/2 the amount of sugar, added a sprinkling of ginger and used raisins, dried cranberries and chopped dried apricots. I omitted the nuts so Frances could try some. I’m not so crazy about a lot of clove so if I remember the next time I make them I will cut that in half.

Frances turned 15 months old on Saturday. She is so wonderful and amazing and I just love her to bits! Josh and I are having SO MUCH fun with her as she is growing into such a good little person.

6 responses to “Hermits.

  1. mmmm!!! Why don’t you come to my house and bake for me…. hint-hint! Tell Nanny to get you a plane ticket for your b-day for you and Ms. F! And, come bake in my new kitchen! Hint-hint!

    Loved the new photos of Mama F.! Very sweet!

  2. I wish!!

  3. They sound good – alas – too much brown sugar for Cameron. 😦

    You know what – I’m a dork. You know why – remember when you were asking me about baking pans. I think I was an idiot and said I bought sterling silver pans – when I but stainless steel. It was the SS thing that got me all muddled in the head. Now, if I did say I bought stainless steel then – nevermind. But I’m pretty sure I said silver. Der.

  4. Julie, yes you did say sterling silver which is why I was so surprised.
    I actually googled sterling silver bakeware but couldn’t find anything, that’s why I asked if one could actually buy it.
    Stainless steel makes more sense 🙂

  5. Not always the healthiest, but her food photos are amazing.

    http://smittenkitchen.com/

    You should make the “twice baked shortbread” cookies… best ever!

  6. Mmm those photos are delicious!! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

