Twenty five.

So I thought I was special when I was tagged on facebook by my sister to make a list of 25 random things about myself. Turns out I’m not so special because EVERYONE and their dog seems to be doing it. I thought about it and figured it could make for an interesting post and because my sister said such nice things about me I decided I would jump on the bandwagon and make my list here. So without further ado, 25 random things about me.

1- Sometimes I wish Margaret was my first name. (it’s my middle name) I feel more like a Margaret and I have never met a Jessica I liked. Well that’s not true there is one but she goes by Jessie. The few Jessica’s I have met have been real snotty bitches. Josh likes to make fun of Margaret and call me Margie or Peggy.

2- I like Hawaiian pizza the best. I think it’s the sweet and salty taste. Love the sweet and salty!

3-Β  When I was a kid I had a terrible fear of ants under my bed. I would lay awake with my imagination thinking there was a whole colony crawling around under there and I could never let my feet touch the floor. When I turned the light on they were all gone.

4- Again when I was a kid, I had terrible nightmares about an adult sized groundhog chasing me around the neighborhood. I believe it resembled the Easter rabbit you can visit at the mall.

5- I have lived in the same city my whole life. I’ve never had the desire to live anywhere else. I like it here and I’m just as happy to live vicariously through my world atlas. I am the only family member (that’s aunts, uncles and cousins included) in two generations to stick around and live where I was born.

6- That being said I get terribly homesick when I do travel. When I was little I had a really hard time going off to Girl Guide camp.

7- My grandmother hated gladiolas, she always told my mother that she better not have any at her funeral. My mother tells us the same thing, I feel terribly guilty when I see gladiolas and think how pretty they are.

8- People who meet me in my adult life say they have a hard time believing I could have been such an awful teenager. Do I really seem like a goody two shoes now? I was indeed a terrible teenager who gave my parents many sleepless nights. My father seems to think I will be paid back in full some day!

9- I really don’t want Frances to be an only child. Do we really need more money and a bigger space in order to have another?

10- Driving scares the shit out of me! I can’t explain why, it just does.

11- I have always been slightly jealous of my sister. She always seems SO happy. I’ve never seen her struggle (maybe she has but never showed it) and everything comes easy for her. Her life is so perfect. That said I am SO lucky to have a sister like her. I know if and when I ever need her she would do anything for me. I wish we lived closer, I feel like we could be really good friends now as adults and as much as I’ve always tried to be different we are so similar and I like that!

12- Have you ever heard of Fleet Foxes? I live under a rock and just discovered them on the CBC the other day. I’m listening to them as I make my list and think they are really good. Go check them out!

13- I am not a superstitious person but the number 13 makes me nervous.

14- I wish I could play the cello. I love the sound it makes, gives me goosebumps. Maybe someday I will learn.

15- I love talking to strangers. Yes yes, I know we are not supposed to do that but I have become a pretty good judge of character. If I am waiting for or riding the bus and someone strikes up a conversation I am more then happy to oblige and enjoy making idle chit chat. I don’t however enjoy making the small talk if I feel forced into it or I am in an awkward situation with that uncomfortable silence. My granny loved talking to people and often quoted Will Rogers (wonder if he’s any relation?) by sayingΒ  “A stranger is just a friend I haven’t met yet.” Unfortunately some idiot on Ravelry has abused and misused this quote and taken it to literally. That’s a whole other story!

16- I act like a wimp but I have a very high threshold for pain. Childbirth seems like a piece of cake to me now.

17- I have become less shy since becoming a mother. Being a mother gives me such a rush of confidence I never knew I had!

18- I have wanted a tattoo for many years now but the fear of my mother has gotten the better of me. She always told my sister and I how disappointed she would be if we did that to the beautiful perfect bodies she created. I wouldn’t have something stupid permanently inked into my body, I thought maybe a beautiful William Morris bird or floral motif. How could she get mad at that!

19- I like meeting new people and hearing about their life experiences. I like making new friends and finding similarities in our lives.

20- I don’t like phonies, posers and snobs and I really hate being taken advantage of.

21- I believe in quality over quantity. I would rather live a simple life with a few well made aesthetically pleasing items then live with a whole shit load of ugly, common, cheap crap.

22-I believe I had the worlds greatest childhood with two loving parents who patiently read to us, played with us and took us on fun trips to look at art. I hope Frances thinks the same when she is an adult.

23- The real world scares the shit out of me.

24- I get crazy vertigo just from watching tall heights and weird angles on tv. I think I might be a little scared of heights.

25- I still sleep with my baby. I really believe that Josh and I have created a strong amazing bond with her because of this. How wonderful is it to wake up next to that beautiful smiling face every morning!

7 responses to “Twenty five.

  1. Some comments re:

    1) I share the name thing – but I still can’t think of one I’d like better.

    3) In my case there were monsters – what kind and how vicious, I don’t know. They might still be under there, so you can never be too careful.

    9) Yay! More babies! That’s all I’ll say about that.

    18) I love William Morris. Go for it πŸ™‚

  2. hey lovely!!
    i love your list AND your blog!
    now if only we lived closer!
    xs

  3. Hey you! I’ve been reading your list over and over since yesterday… I have a dissertation in the works to respond with…. I’m held up at number 11…..having trouble with how to respond / reply… I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting since I read it.
    maybe I’ll just call you and talk to you in person! You around later this aft?

  4. Sarah, so nice of you to find me and leave a response. A fellow blogger!!
    It would be great if we lived closer, FB just doesn’t do a very good job of keeping people in touch. Maybe if you ever get back east to visit we should hook up!

    Sara, I always look forward to your dissertations, but if you would like to call nap time is generally between 1-3 our time.

  5. Holy smokes… where to start! Here is my dissertation! I didn’t realize how much we really are alike until I read your list.

    1. So funny you should say that… I was thinking of you at the library today when I was cataloging a book my someone named Margaret. However, You will always be Jess to me! I think you’re the only Jessica I know! Except for Jessie on the Beachcombers πŸ˜‰

    2. I didn’t know you like Hawaiian pizza! Julie makes a killer Hawaiian pizza! I bet my boys would like it. Maybe we’ll make one on pizza night (Tuesday) next week!

    3 & 4. I totally forgot about your fear of ants under your bed. Hillarious! However, I did not know you were scared of giant groundhogs!?!?!?!?!?!?!!

    7. I too have a guilty love of gladiolas! I think they’re lovely and would like to plant them in my garden some day…

    8. Ooooo Nelly! Do I have some stories… But, you turned out really great. I think you had some Peter Pan in you – you just weren’t ready to grow up and take on the world! Watching you grow up made me realize that it’s so crazy that we have to decide before we’re 20 what we want to do for the rest of our lives! Not everyone is ready! Gosh, I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up… on to career number 5! Because of you, I think when my boys get to that age, I’ll have a different outlook on things. If they’re not ready and have no clue, I know that at some point they’ll find themselves because their Aunt Jessica did!

    9. You don’t need a bigger house to have more kids. They can share a room! That’s what bunk beds were made for! And, you can go back to work when they’re in school….

    15. I love to talk to total strangers too! Must be the Granny in us πŸ˜‰ But, I hate talking to people in social situation…. like at a party – especially when everyone knows each other.

    18. First of all, I say go get yourself a William Morris tattoo! Hey, why don’t we both get one together when I’m home this summer…. Now there’s an idea! Whatta think!?!?!?!?! That way Mom could NEVER get mad at us! Heck, I’ll even get her kitchen wallpaper as a tattoo!!!! Then, if we get tattoos, she can forgive our love of gladiolas! Maybe William Morris has a gladiola print…..

    21. Scott and I were watching MTV Cribs on tv last night (don’t ask why….). They were showing off 50 Cent’s house in Farmington, CT. It’s disgustingly ostentatious – just too much!! I said the very same thing to Scott. All I need is a modest house that’s warm in the winter, food on the table, a healthy family, and being surrounded by the people I love. However, despite what Mom says, more chocolate or butter in anything really is better!

    24. Remember when we went to the top of the Twin Towers and Mom was so scared she was pinned against the wall!

    I guess things have come pretty easy to me… I’ve lived a pretty wonderful life. But, so have we both! But, it all goes back to number 21 – Quality of life! I don’t require a lot! And a positive attitude always helps. I don’t let a lot of things bother me. Most things just roll off my back.

    I keep waiting for the “shoe to drop” though. Life can’t be this good, can it? I’m probably tempting fate by saying this, but I have never experienced real tragedy in my life. And I know lots of people – good people – that have had some serious hard times!

    Growing up, I was always jealous of you! You could walk into any thrift shop and have things fit you! You always had a fashion sense that I wished I had! I wish I was more creative like you (and Julie!). And your ease at being a mother…. I wish you became the mother first! I could have learned so much from you! You just seem to have an innate sense about what Ms. F. needs and how to give it to her!

    I loved your list! It was fun to learn new things about you and remember the funny old quirks!
    I miss you!!!!!!!

  6. What is it with you and Sara and the bizarre things you’re afraid of. Giant groundhogs? Kites? I’m scared a psycho’s going to break into my house when I’m asleep. I can handle a giant groundhog. πŸ™‚ Is life so safe in Canada that you have to make up things to be afraid of, eh? πŸ™‚

    And you don’t need more space to have another baby. More money is always nice – but not always necessary. As long as you and Josh both want one, I’d say the time is now.

    Besides, you seem to be enjoying motherhood so much and sounds like you’re a pretty darn good one, too.

    What’s wrong with gladiolas?

    If I ever paint one – I’ll make it into a card and send it to Martha. πŸ™‚

  7. #14 yes those Bach cello sonatas…yum

Leave a Reply

