Naan maan!

naan3

Have you ever baked your own naan bread? It is one of the most wonderful treats ever and I highly suggest you do! I guarantee that you will never purchase any from the supermarket again, it is so easy and tastes much nicer.

naan1

There are tons of recipes available and many can be found on the inter-net. I have tried a few and like the one from the Joy of Cooking best. It uses egg and yogurt as the wet ingredients which I think gives a nice tangy taste and soft bready texture. I used a pizza stone for baking my naan and really think it’s an invaluable kitchen tool, especially if you make your own pizza.

Combine in a mixing bowl or food processor (with a dough blade):

2 cups bread flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/4 tsp active dry yeast (instant yeast)

Add:

2 tbsp melted butter or vegetable oil

3/4 cup yogurt or buttermilk, at room temp.

1 tsp to 1 tbsp water as needed.

Mix until a soft ball of dough is formed. Kneed for 10 min. until the dough is smooth and elastic. Place dough in an oiled bowl and cover with palstic wrap to let rise at room temp for about 1 1/2 hours. Dough should double in size.

Punch dough down and divide into 4 pieces (or more if you want smaller naan) Roll into balls and let rest for 10 min.

Place a baking stone or inverted baking sheet in the oven and preheat to 475″f. Roll out each ball of dough into an oval 8-10 inches long and 1/4 inch thick. Brush the tops with 1-2 tbsp melted butter.

You can also sprinkle 2 tbsp minced scallions or 2 tsp sesame or poppy seeds on the tops.

Place the dough one at a time onto the baking stone or sheet and bake until each oval gets puffy and just begins to turn golden, 6-7 min.

Remove and eat!

naan2

My mother’s birthday was this past weekend, so I baked her naan and made this amazing lamb tagine to go along with it. So good!! If you don’t eat lamb, try it with chicken or chickpeas. Oh, I also added almonds, dried apricots and dates. To top it all off I also made a Montana’s Mom’s Dynamite Cheesecake from The Moosewood cookbook. Best cheesecake recipe ever, by far!!

3 responses to “Naan maan!

  1. Mmmmm, tasty eats. I think I’ll have to give naan a try one of these days – it looks too good to resist.

  2. Auntie Sayer

    I’ll have to make another batch one of these days. I bought some last week…. not homemade but still insanely yummy…. especially toasted and smothered in butter and blueberry jam…..

    I heard dinner on Sunday was fabulous! I love tagine… I prefer chicken though… add some apricots, olives and preserved lemons….mmmm… I’m drooling!

    Love the photo of Ms. F. enjoying her Nann!

  3. Whoo – aren’t you the fancy Nancy. Of course – we’re a non-yeast house so no naan for us. i did make some flat bread about a month ago. It was good out of the oven but the next day – not so much. Decent gluten-free, yeast-free bread is a challenge. Oh well. At least I can make muffins.

    Sounds like a super yummy dinner Jessica.

Leave a Reply

