…and so it begins!

Frances, would you like some water? No!

Frances, let’s go have a diaper change. No!

Frances, would you like to come upstairs with mommy? No!

Frances, would you like some yogurt? No!

Frances, can we put on your pajamas? No!

Frances, give daddy a kiss goodbye. No! Please? No!

I didn’t see this coming. Isn’t this supposed to be part of the terrible two’s, and by two’s I mean 2 and not 17 months!? It is rather funny though, often when she says no I say “why not”, so no becomes “no, why not”! Is it going to get worse? When do the no’s turn to tantrums? I suppose I will fumble my way through this next stage the way I do everything else and hope for the best!!

8 responses to “…and so it begins!

  1. Auntie Sayer

    AH HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!
    PAY BACK!!!!!!

  2. Seth never really had a “no” phase, so I can’t exactly relate. However 17 months was 7 months into his “bye” phase. Which loosely translated meant I’m running away bye. I guess every kid has their difficult streak. He out grew the bye thing about the same time he potty trained himself…there is always and upside to willful/focused personalities 🙂

  3. Auntie Sayer

    Playdate w/ Andrew’s two best buddies from pre-school this morning. Lots of talk of bodily functions…. they’re having a blast dressing up like super hero’s and shooting the windows with Nerf guns! Oh the joys of boys!

  4. Auntie Sayer

    I remember the boys (especially Nathaniel) doing this. I think I changed my strategy at that point. Rather that asking (questioning) if they wanted to do something, I’d say, “Okay, it’s time to do…”

  5. Frustrating? I’m sure it is. Funny as hell when it’s not happening to me? You bet.

    (I’m sure that when I finally have children I’ll get it full force. Until then, I snicker.)

  6. thatstupidsound

    haha, poor you! i hated the no stage. luckily, ash grew out of it within a month or so. hopefully F will be the same!

  7. “No” is a powerful word. Frannie’s just trying out some power. But, like Sara said, there’s a time to ask a question and there’s a time to give an order.
    “Are you ready for bed?” should become, “It’s time for bed!” She’ll grow out of it soon.

  8. Auntie Sayer

    Oh and FYI… we thought it was just the terrible twos… no! It’s the terrible threes. And the terrible fours… etc….

Leave a Reply

