Saving it all up for a rainy day.

frances3

What’s been going on? Oh goodness, I feel like I’ve slipped out of the wagon as far as writing and reading other peoples writing goes. All the fantastic weather we had been experiencing caused me to tune out and turn on to everything the outdoors had to offer. Long walks, playgrounds, gardens, parks, and just laying in the soft grass watching the clouds float by. A week with nothing but rain in the forecast has brought us back inside to slow down and clean up. So, if you are interested I will sum up what’s been going on in our world lately.

bread4

Bread, loaves and loaves of homemade bread. When I was a kid my mother made all of her own bread by hand, and as an adult I finally realize how lucky we were. Wouldn’t it be nice for Frances to look back on her childhood and feel the same way, and also nice for Josh to have his sandwich on healthy homemade bread everyday. There is something so comforting and pleasing about making the staples we use every day all on our own from scratch, to rely less and less on the modern conveniences the supermarket has to offer. It’s really not that hard to make either, in fact I use my food processor. The only thing good bread requires is time and patients, of which I have loads being home all day. Sometimes I make a standard loaf of sandwich bread using a combination of white and whole wheat flour and sometimes I will make a nice loaf of sourdough. I keep the starter going in my fridge, using half for the bread and feeding the other half for the next loaf, it works really well and somehow seems to taste better every time.

june3

Gardening and sewing. Every year my perennial garden gets better and better. I’m not real fussy about it and I tend to be quite frugal, but after eight years of nurturing many small plants I can finally look out my kitchen window and feel pure satisfaction. Over those years I have divided and moved stuff around to the point where it feels fairly well balanced and filled. Sure there are still some areas that I envision in other ways, but they will come and really isn’t that how all gardeners feel!?

june5

They’re day clothes, they’re play clothes. Not like she really needs more clothes, but just as my mother did for us, Frances will have clothes made just for her. The shirt came from this tutorial and the short pants I made up after loving the Puppet Show Shorts from oliver + s. I guess that pattern drafting course I suffered through at NSCAD finally came in handy!

june1june2

Between the raindrops we are finding creative ways to stay occupied and happy. Yesterday it was play dough, today finger paint. Frances doesn’t like having stuff on her hands, wipe it off she’ll say. Maybe she picked this up from her mother who picked it up from her father, who knows, but she needs to get over it. Finger paint seemed like a good tool to encourage messy hands, and it was much funner to play in then paint with. I can dig it! Let’s see what kind of mess we can create tomorrow.

june4

Our darling boy Maki has had a rough week (as have we $$). In the last year while making household budget cuts we decided to opt for the less expensive supermarket cat food thinking it would save money. Well, poor Maki proved us wrong when he ended up spending a few nights at the kitty cat hospital with a blocked urethra. (“He had a tummy baked just like George”(Curious) says Frances) Now he’s home and very slowly recovering while I constantly mop up little puddles around the house. Nothing but the best for our cats now, it’s a good thing I can sew and make bread, now I should learn how to clip coupons!

5 responses to “Saving it all up for a rainy day.

  1. Poor Maki! I’m glad to hear he’s okay.
    And I’m loving Miss F.’s new custom duds – very cute 🙂

  2. Poor Kitty. I hope the mopping up ceases soon.

    Ah bread. I LOVE the smell of bread baking in the house. Of course, when I started making bread that’s when the trouble started. The fresh yeast aggravated the autism and my boy went haywire. Scary. BUT, when we figured it out we got him on a better path and, as it turned out, we’re probably better off for finding out sooner rather than later. Yeast is a big no-no in this house.

    But I look at your bread (lovely photo) and I can feel the warmth around me. I miss toast.

    Frannie’s clothes are TOO CUTE and I have no doubt she will, one day, look back on her childhood and realize her mother ROCKED and it will be the blueprint for the mother she wants to be.

  3. Auntie Sayer

    Poor ol’ Mr. M. Mom told me the whole story. Poor ol’ J&J too…. you’ll get over the sticker shock… eventually! (remember when Bryn had his surgery $$$$$$$….. oy-vey!)

    So…. are you gonna make us some of your bread when we come home? Only 23 more days till we see you. Hope you’re priming Ms. F. up for her crazy cousins! (remember that movie My American Cousin?). This is going to me a fun visit now that Ms. F. is up and running, and talking… I can’t wait to see her!

    Off to pack some more boxes. I’m going to tackle the boys room and the kitchen today!

    Oh…. WICKED thunder storm last night! SO crazy we even got hail the size of quarters (and a few golf balls!). Got some crazy cute photos of the boys with their friends playing in the puddles after…. will send them along. And PROMISE to get better about sending more photos 😉 Maybe I should start to blog about… uh…. different ways to cook crabs?

  4. Julie, what about a non yeast gluten free sourdough bread?

  5. Sara, you should totally start a blog, not just about crabs but food and life in general. Something to help those who miss you keep up on your new life. I want to know and see more about my nephews. Maybe we could start some kind of project together, a recipe exchange or something to do with food. I am totally into doing something!!

    I would love to make you bread, what kind would you like? We are so excited to see you all, we talk about it every night at dinner.

Leave a Reply

